Gov. Evers Moves Forward on Plans to Close Lincoln Hills

Contact: or (608) 219-7443

MADISON – Governor Tony Evers today announced that the Department of Corrections, in cooperation with the Department of Administration, will begin construction on two Type 1 juvenile facilities as directed by 2017 Wisconsin Act 185.

One facility will be located in Milwaukee at the intersection of Teutonia and Mill Road. This neighborhood was identified for ease of families to visit youth residing in care of Corrections and in cooperation with the City of Milwaukee. It is located near the site recommended by the Act 185 study committee.

The second facility will be located in Hortonia, Wisconsin in Outagamie County. This location was identified by the Act 185 study committee for its proximity to families with youth in care of Corrections.

"We are committed to getting kids out of Lincoln Hills and closer to home as soon as we safely and responsibly can," said Gov. Evers. "Today's announcements show significant action towards our shared goal of ensuring kids get the education, programming and mental health treatment they need in supportive settings that are closer to their families and communities."

Additionally, Governor Evers announced that he is appointing Rep. David Crowley as chair of the Act 185 Juvenile Corrections Grant Committee and Sharlen Moore the nonprofit representative to this committee. This committee will determine grants to counties to being construction of Secure Youth Residential Centers for Children and Youth, as outlined in Act 185. The governor urges the committee to convene on Monday, March 18 to begin working with counties on grant applications.

Following today's announcement, DOC and DOA leadership will be working with local leaders in both locations to schedule and facilitate community input gathering sessions.

"Research shows that children in incarceration make significant strides toward positive change when they are closer to their communities and loved ones," said DOC Secretary-designee Kevin Carr. "I look forward to working with the Grant Committee and Wisconsin counties to develop a network of local opportunities to support our youth."

Members of the Juvenile Corrections Grant Committee:

  • Representative David Crowley (Governor's designee)
  • Sharlen Moore, co-founder of Urban Underground
  • Emilie Amundson, DCF Secretary-designee
  • Kevin Carr, DOC Secretary-designee
  • Senator Alberta Darling
  • Senator Lena Taylor
  • Senator Van Wanggaard
  • Representative Mark Born
  • Representative Joe Sanfelippo
  • Representative Michael Schraa